New York City

Tourist Central

Tourist Central

As I’ve written before, New York City would be a horrible place to live, but is a great place to visit. There are so many restaurants and fun activities to do that you could eat out every meal and go to a different bar every night and still not have scratched the surface. Of course you’d be broke, fat and an alcoholic but isn’t that just what young professionals do in the city?

After spending four years in the psuedo city of Boston, I am confident in saying that I am a country person. I like driving, having a yard and uneventful neighbors. Luckily though,  I have friends who live in Manhattan and cordially welcome me at least once a year for a tour of all things Apple. Surprisingly, I did not slip into a food coma, drink myself to stupidity or fall asleep at 9:30 p.m. on Saturday night as has been the case the past few weekends. The visit was most enjoyable and many new experiences were experienced. Where’d we go? Here’s a breakdown:

Fat Cat – Only in New York can you have a packed basement bar with pool tables, ping pong, board games, live jazz, tag sale furniture and good beer on tap. We did have to wait a while to get a ping pong table, but with Ithaca Apricot Wheat on tap, good friends and chill vibes in the room, it wasn’t an issue. Normally, on paper (and in person, actually) Fat Cat would be a little too hipster scene-y for me, but I had a great time and recommend it highly.

Gaslight – We didn’t stay too long but it felt a little too blow-out hair hip for me. We did discover though that I am quite a bit taller than every other man in NYC. Oh, and they have an old fashion cash register!

Heidelberg – Originally saw Heidelberg on No Reservations and knew it would be awesome. While we didn’t order the boot, the imported Weiss beer on tap was probably the best I’ve tasted. The wiener schnitzel and bratwurst with sides of homefries, red cabbage, sauerkraut and potato salad were everything you’d expect from a painfully good authentic German haunt. Next time, the $118 sausage platter for six.

Central Park Zoo – Somewhat touristy, but who cares? I had never been and I love zoos on a nice walking day. Nothing cooler than seeing a massive polar bear named Gus swim laps Michael Phelps style. Peep the video.

Becky’s Pub – Watched the second round UCONN game in the back room of the narrow bar. The Maryland fans next to us were slightly obnoxious until their game tipped off and got blown out. Solid beer selection and an absolutely diesel Louisiana Chicken Hero on crusty bread with hot sauce, fresh mozzarella, LT, roasted red peppers and a heaping side of waffle fries; barely finished it at half-time and didn’t eat the rest of the night. It was a little surreal to come out of the bathroom at one point to find myself in the middle of an unsolicited Irish jig concert. Don’t ask.

Gallery Bar – We rolled over here after Gaslight and even though the bouncer said there was a private party tonight, he let us pass through litteraly five seconds after telling us. Easily the most club-like of the places we went, the DJ spun some fly jams and I got pinned against the wall by a way too PDA couple. Anyways, we decided at 3:30 a.m. when the music turns from hip-hop to pounding techno remixes, that’s the code for everyone to leave or else the DJ will continue to play shitty music.

Awesome weekend all around. I managed to not blow all my money, eat some tasty meals and hold my own in the NYC nightlife. Until next time…

Leave a comment

Filed under Travel

Leave a Reply

