Fantasy Football is Life

I am so ready for some football.

I am so ready for some football.

The NFL Football season kicks off tomorrow with the Steelers and Titans marking the end of the horrible “who gives a –” sports drought of the summer. I really don’t root for a particular team but some could say I’m obsessed with fantasy football. It makes any game interesting, especially when money is on the line. Somehow this year I’ve managed to get myself into three leagues, two for money. After the jump, I’ll break down my three teams and the prospects for each.

Team Name: Carmel Sundae
10 Team Work League
$20 Entry

Aaron Rodgers, QB
Brandon Jacobs, RB
Peyton Hillis, RB
Donald Brown, RB
Larry Fitzgerald, WR
Calvin Johnson, WR
Jason Witten, TE
Lendale White, RB
Jonathan Stewart, RB
Donovan McNabb, QB
Donald Driver, WR
Domenik Hixon, WR
Le’ron McClain, RB
Patrick Crayton, WR
Eagles, D/ST
Rob Bironas, K

I really like this team. I was picking sixth and the draft was holding true to form until I went with Jacobs in the first round. High hopes for him this year. Then, magically Fitz and Calvin Johnson fell to me in the next two rounds. Follow that up with an elite tight end (Witten) and QB with huge potential (Rodgers) and my team is looking rather diesel. Filled up the rest of the roster with some up-side RBs and decent back-up receivers and I’m feeling good. Playoffs or bust for the Sundae.

Team Name: Atkinson Bernards
10 Team Friend League
$20 Entry

Tom Brady, QB
LaDainian Tomlinson, RB
Donald Brown, RB
Reggie Bush, RB
Marques Colston, WR
Chad Ochocinco, WR
Jason Witten, TE
Darren McFadden, RB
Darren Sproles, RB
Domenik Hixon, WR
Jay Cutler, WR
Mark Clayton, WR
Chris Henry, WR
Jeremy Macklin, WR
Jets, D/ST
John Carney, K

I really like this team as well. LT is healthy and flying slightly under the radar. I took Brady even though I despise him for trade bait in the second round. In a league full of Pats fans, this might work out for me. If not, I’ll suck it up and earn 30 points per game without cheering once. Otherwise, I love having Ochocinco on my team even if he’s a bust and count both Hixon and Henry having breakout years. One last note, I normally don’t endorse handcuffing, but Sproles was on the board and the best option at the time. I’ll call it an accidental cuff.

Team Name: Pitino’s Abortion
12 Team Friend League
Free Entry

Matt Schaub, QB
Steven Jackson, RB
Marion Barber, RB
Kevin Smith, RB
Andre Johnson, WR
Chris Henry, WR
Vincent Jackson, WR
Visanthe Shiancoe, TE
Brandon Marshall, WR
Cedric Benson, RB
Chris Wells, RB
Earnest Graham, RB
Shaun Hill, QB
Anthony Fasano, TE
Peyton Hillis, RB
Redskins, D/ST
Neil Rackers, K
Titans Head Coach

I sort of got stuck with the better half of my team for missing most of the live draft. I didn’t really care though because this league isn’t for money and the other owners suck at fantasy. Anyways, the auto-draft gave me Jackson, Barber, Johnson, Schaub and Smith. Not too shabby but I don’t think I would have picked a single one of these players if I was drafting. Shiancoe is a nice sleeper tight end and if Brandon Marshall pulls his head out of his ass could give me great value from a late round pick. This league is very different–two TE, Head Coach?–so I’m willing to experiment more with the roster. We’ll see what happens.

Get used to this. Every Tuesday I’ll post the Fantasy Wrap Up along with my thoughts on the weekend’s game. Just give in. Fantasy Football is taking over the world.

Leave a comment

Filed under Fantasy Football, Sports

Leave a Reply

