You Love “Entertaining?” Really?

I watch a lot of house and property related shows on TLC and HGTV. It seems like every couple looking at houses on the market or undertaking a renovation sites one reason for wanting a big and open kitchen: they love entertaining. They just love having their friends and family over for elaborate meals and parties and could not possibly be a good host in an enclosed kitchen that doesn’t have a view of the entire first level.

Let’s just cut through the bullshit. People who “love to entertain” just love attention. And you don’t need a lavish set-up just to host a gathering. Entertaining is just a way to show off and what better way to do that than with your Viking stove, Lecruset cast iron set and William Sonoma stemware. I’m just curious what people love so much about entertaining. Entertaining is a hassle. You have to clean, prep, and do everything in the kitchen during and after the event and half the time the effort isn’t worth it. Some people just need to feel important and if being a host within their own home does the trick for them, then more power to them.

For once I’d just like to hear someone say “I want a big kitchen because I like to cook and I like I want a big fucking room to eat alone with my family in.” Maybe it’s just me.

3 Comments

Filed under Amateur Analysis, Food

3 responses to “You Love “Entertaining?” Really?

  1. Big Sexy

    Diesel, that was a bullseye. Thank you. Now when will you have a post about Idol? I predict Katie Stevens, the pride of region 15, will go deep this year.

  2. chefdiesel

    I normally don’t watch until Hollywood week but since you asked nicely, I’ll deliver.

  3. Amanda

    Hey at least you can still watch HGTV. The Scripps Cablevision debacle is cramping my style.

Leave a Reply

