American Idol Was Better This Week

At this point, I think there’s a little too much American Idol on Fox. They expect me to watch five hours of programming a week? I don’t think so. This is the beauty of DVR. There’s no need for the singing shows to be two hours long and the results show is just one long cock-tease. They could do away with the entire results show and just break into the late news like the lottery does and announce who’s been voted off. But that would never work because they need to sell more commercials and waste more of our time. The point is, I’ll be cutting back to one AI post a week, most likely put up on Thursday or Friday. Maybe some weeks will be so weak that I don’t write anything at all, we’ll have to see how this season plays out. (If Katie leaves before the top 12, I’m gone too. You’ve been warned.)

The Guys

Michael Lynche was good. At first I didn’t think he could handle the James Brown song, but he ended up being the best of the night. Alex Lambert was better but cut your hair. It’s bad enough that you made up your own language but you look like CAROL BRADY. I’m already sick of Casey James. Wow, you know how to rock a wah-wah pedal. Like Kara said, this is a singing competition. Playing an instrument helps you as a packaged artist but not vocally.

The Girls

I really liked Katelyn Epperly. The song, the white piano–it just worked for me. I was scared the band was going to kick in, but very happy when they didn’t. Everyone else was sort of just eh. Siobhan was kind of awkwardly funky and Crystal/Lilly combination was  strong but all three should have saved those songs for later in the competition. Unfortunately Katie Stevens failed to connect again. She did go younger but “Put Your Records On” is more fucked out than that Gavin DeGraw song. She can sing. She just needs to take a deep breath and relax.

Insult of the Week

“Looks like Purple Haze will be getting their lead singer back” — Simon Cowell to John Park after his pre-roll package mentioned his Northwestern a capella group.

Who Will Go Home

John Park, Jermaine Sellars, Haeley Vaughn or Lacey Brown. But who knows. I was way off last week. America is dumb and at this point in the competition either vote on personality or looks.

Edit: Who went home: John, Jermaine, Haeley and Michelle. Hey, three out of four ain’t bad!

3 Comments

Filed under Television

3 responses to “American Idol Was Better This Week

  1. Big Sexy

    I really hope Katie picks a great song, because she hasn’t put it all together since the top 24. At least we can count on Lacey going home next week. The key to voting? Starting before they play the recap. I was able to vote like 50 times before Seacrest said the lines were open.
    And Bowersox is my back-up favorite.

  2. I loved the top 5 American idol group medley last night. It was heartbreaking to see Aaron Kelly removed but I do think the others were better singers hence he needed to go!

  3. I believe Donald Trump would be a much better American Idol judge than Harry Connick Jr. – Trump isn’t afraid to express what he thinks plus can be as outspoken as Simon Cowell.

Leave a Reply

