Tea Bag Party!

Tea Party Protest

Rabble Rabble Rabble Rabble

I hate politics. I seriously could care less. So maybe it’s apathy. But either way, democrats, republicans, Obama, conservatives–it’s all just static to me. Not caring and being ignorant are two different things though. I know what’s going on out there in the political landscape and I simply don’t care. And you know why? Because it’s just not worth it.

I subscribe to Rolling Stone and the latest issue is chocked full political shit. Two pieces stuck out to me: a huge interview with the President and an article on the recent success of the Tea Party movement. The Obama interview covered the requisite topics, and he came off in his usual smooth and confident self. But right after reading the President try to dissuade public opinion, we are treated to another stellar piece from Matt Taibbi on the Tea Party movement.

Look, I know Rolling Stone is a left leaning publication and the Tea Party is an easy target, but this article should be read by everyone who can read and is registered to vote. It’s not that I think this is some groundbreaking piece of journalism; it’s that Taibbi is able to some up the Tea Party movement very eloquently after some exhaustive reporting.

“Vast forests have already been sacrificed to the public debate about the Tea Party; what it is, what it means, , where it’s going. But after lengthy study of the phenomenon, I’ve concluded that the whole miserable narrative boils down to one stark fact: They’re full of shit. All of them.”

The whole thing is just an annoying waste of time. The fact that the Tea Party even exists makes me feel that our country is just getting dumber. I believe that commons sense should govern us all and the ideas that this group rally around are a fucking joke. Praying upon people’s emotions, prejudices and religious practices is low and divisive. That people buy into this ultra-conservative garbage makes me depressed. Is this how we’ve regressed as a country? More than anything the Tea Party seems to be built on pure hatred for anything left of center, rather than their own unique beliefs. Is this how we’ve regressed as a country? Abortion, gay marriage, taxes, wars? Get ‘er done! Simply, I am puzzled as to why people care so much about these issues and politics in general.

Maybe I’ll never understand why. But a lot of people are under the Tea Party spell and the scares me. Like pretty much everyone else who stumps or stands on a street corner with a sign or donates money, Tea Party zombies are so thick headed and only really care about their side and their own issues that they spend more time making a racket than an actual difference. Forget the good of the country or fellow man, the their way is the only way.

Luckily Taibbi closes the article with some much needed perspective.

“The bad news is that the Tea Party’s political outrage is being appropriated, with thanks, by the Goldmans and BPs of the world. The good news, if you want to look at it that way, is that those interests mostly have us by the balls anyway, no matter who wins on Election Day. That’s the reality; the rest of this is just noise.”

And I think that’s pretty much how I feel about politics in general. All this left/right stuff just is just a waste of time. I support gay marriage, am pro-choice, think taxes are two high (who doesn’t) and want the government to stay out of my life. So who should I vote for? Doesn’t matter. Big corporations now run this country and everything is done in their best interest. Political parties are now just a front for lobbyists and special interest groups. So rather than blow smoke out my ears or turn up the volume on the TV or waste a brain cell on Glenn Beck, I’ll worry about things that actually effect me like what’s for dinner tonight or what time the Celtics are on.

Let’s be practical folks. Worry about your own shit, pay your taxes and get over it. Maybe if we focused on ourselves and our families and possibly our local communities, we could actually get something done and make our lives better. America is the best place to live in the world and I think both left and right have gotten too spoiled to remember how lucky we have it.

Leave a comment

Filed under Amateur Analysis, Blog

Leave a Reply

